Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to Start?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by biker883, Aug 4, 2015.

1. biker883

biker883 New Member

Hello community traders,

I am new to options trading, but having read and listen quite a few videos -
    Can experienced options traders recommend what/where should I get effective educational material/mentoring as it is difficult to find the right spot.
    Anyone willing to help me
    Thank you

Gerald

2. Rich S

Rich S Member

What is your trading background?

3. biker883

biker883 New Member

I have traded forex on/off for a year, but can't make it steady due to day work.
    I have an IB funded account in which I am trying to take some positions but woul like to find a more constant approach.
    If you want to know if I am completely new to options ( I started reading about 4 months ago)
    I also have tested how options work with a TOS demo account since January 2015. This is how I got interested
    Tried to upload a copy of the TOS statement, but I get an error message.

thanks you

4. Gabor Maly

Gabor Maly Well-Known Member

Hi Biker,
    If you are just starting out you probably want to get a strong overall foundation before moving into some of the more complex strategies discussed here. One of the sites I would recommend is http://www.james16group.us/forums/index.php. Kevin Sass there is options instructor and given there were a lot of people interested in learning options he has started running webinars that explains the basics, different strategies, platform (TOS), etc and he will be moving on the more advanced topics as time goes. Once you have got your hands dirty and tried and traded different strategies then you could start looking into John Locke's or Tony Sizmore's strategies and courses, many of them discussed here.

There are of course million ways to skin a cat so this is just one approach.