ToS New Margin Requirements

Discussion in 'Online Brokers' started by Miles, May 22, 2018.

1. Miles

Miles Member

Hey All,
    I've been chugging away with RTTs for about 7-8 months now and have never had such a tidy consistent monthly profit-maker. I received an email 6 days ago from my broker (ToS - Canadian side) indicating that new margin calculation rules would be taking effect soon and I might be affected. I took a quick glance and it seemed to just mention iron condor/fly positions, so I ignored it for the time being (woops..). Long story short, it took affect today and I was immediately issued a margin call. Turns out that any imbalanced condor or fly of any kind will NOT have opposite legs matched to assess margin.

Current Example:
    20 Jul 18 expiry - 5 contract RTT w strikes at 2550, 2600, 2635. Max downside risk of $7450, upside line is currently at $50 profit on expiration graph.
    Today my margin requirement went from ~$7500 to $25000 for this trade. I did the math, and sure enough, they are summing the risk on each leg independently without considering that 1 vertical will be profitable when the other is underwater. The risk on the 2550/2600 put credit spread is $22925 and the risk on the 2600/2635 debit spread is $2075, for $25000 total.

Keep in mind that I've just been playing with a <$20k account, and being able to reliably trade <8k has allowed me to cover the front month, back month, and maintain a 20% pool for emergency adjustments. I still had my 15 Jun 18 trade open this morning as well, which had an upper long of 2425 and could be sold immediately for >95% of the max profit. That said, it only moved my margin from 40k to 25k and I still will need to sell at least a portion of my July trade today to meet the new criteria.