Planning for Incapacitation, or Worse

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jim C, Aug 29, 2017.

1. Jim C

Jim C Member

What are your thoughts about how to handle your open option positions in case you become incapacitated, or die while the positions are open? Nobody in my family understands option trading, and I have no knowledgeable friends or trading partners who could step in to handle the task in an emergency situation. Something to think about. Any ideas? GTC orders that are triggered at certain price points, but which you must manage to make sure they don't trigger unnecessarily?

2. garyw

garyw Well-Known Member

Similar issue here. Perhaps trades such as the RTT are more "death-friendly", as most will playout without undue losses in your absence. (I would think that "white knuckle trades" would need a well-thought out plan to keep from leaving family in financial ruin.) Standing GTC orders should be able to take the edge off (I need to address this more as well).

3. Paul Demers

Paul Demers Well-Known Member

This topic is very important. We always talk about risk in the trade but I consider this part of risk management. I have several trading buddies that we have shared information to be able to close out the positions if my wife or my son call. Each one of my family has an envelope with the login and password information for each account as well as the names and phone numbers of the people that would help. I have taken the envelope for my wife and taped it to the bottom of my keyboard so it will be easy to find.If something happens she will open the envelope and call one of the people and give them the login and password for the accounts. The big issue is finding a trading buddy that understands your trades that do.

David C., Shin, Mark17 and 2 others like this.
  4. Edward H

Edward H Well-Known Member