Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Option Pricing

Discussion in 'Options' started by Average Joe, Feb 19, 2016.

1. Average Joe

Average Joe Guest

Hello,

I am relatively new to options trading. Things are relatively hazy right now with various terms thrown around when I read stuff.

For example, CEV (Constant Elasticity of Volatility). Are there any laymans explanation in this and how it is calculated and utilized in option pricing inside OptionVue? I'd love to implement it in a programming language to get a feel for how it is used.

Additionally, in OV it says it uses a Variable Volatility Model which is based on Horizontal Skew. How is this implemented?

Thanks,

2. Average Joe

Average Joe Guest

Additionally, how are True Delta and True Gamma calculated? Is there an equation?

3. Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee Well-Known Member

Hi Average Joe,
    Let's see if I can help with your questions :

1. CEV - when the underlying moves up or down, the IVs tend to go up or down as well. For example - for equities, the usual case is underlying and IV goes in opposite direction, ie underlying down, IV up and underlying up, IV down. Not all underlying behaves that way though. Some has direct relationship between underlying and IV. CEV tries to capture this behavior into the pricing and greek modeling. OV will calculate the CEV number based on historical data and update the settings automatically. Different underlying will have different CEV numbers.

So in layman terms, CEV is the factor that estimates how much the IV curve will move vertically up or down as the underlying moves.