Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with evaluating OV

Discussion in 'OptionVue Forum' started by DukeB, Oct 18, 2015.

1. DukeB

DukeB Guest

I am new to this type (OV, ONE) of software. I am trading with TOS. I have been reading the comments on OV. Overall they seem more negative than positive. Scott did provide information on how to set the proper vol for TOS -- greatly appreciated. What I think I have learned is that ONE is faster and has smaller time increments for back testing -- which seems good. It cannot plot multiple t=0 lines. OV is slower and has problems with TOS data but very accurate delta calcs. Also, 30 min back test increments. It also appears that (this is a guess) more serious/professional traders use OV. Although, Amy uses ONE and she is very knowledgeable and professional.
    Had an email from Andy at ONE:
    Hi Duke,
    By default, ONE uses the standard individual volatility to calculate the Greeks, inline with most broker platforms, including TOS. We are also beta testing a different method that uses the volatility skew and smile.
    I’m not familiar with any discussion forums you might have read so unfortunately I wouldn’t be able to comment specifically. However, I can assure you that both methods we use are accurately calculated and are simply a different way of implementing volatility. Our users will shortly be able to decide which method they prefer, both have their merits.
    Kind Regards,
    Andy

I do not know if this adequately addresses the delta issue. All I know is that the delta on my current Weirdor went from appx -2 to appx -9 when I adjusted the settings per Scott's instructions.