Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interested in feedback

Discussion in 'Options' started by Larry Brogan, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Larry Brogan

Larry Brogan Member

This is my first attempt at any kind of forum so I really don't understand the dynamics. It's probably simple----just an exchange of ideas in order to help each other.
    I trade options and use only one simple strategy, the Vertical Put Spread. I use only one index the SPX and I only trade the weeklys. So far this year I have made
    128 trades with no losing trades. Through last Thursday my ROC is 489.5%. I have 3 trades in place for this week that are looking good so, knock on wood, should finish the year Jan thru Dec with a 100% win and possibly an ROC of 500%+. I feel pretty good about this but I can't help but feel there are some folks out in the option world that may have some cynicism and I would be interested in any feedback. Appreciate
    Larry B

2. tom

tom Administrator Staff Member

Welcome Larry!
    Those are great numbers. Congratulations. Do you mind sharing some of the details of your verticals?

3. David Stewart

David Stewart Well-Known Member

Sorry Larry, but hard to believe those numbers. My first question is how many lots do you trade? The second question would be what deltas are you selling and how wide are the spreads, and lastly were you in a position on August 24th this year?
    Oh, and also, what percent of the credit do you aim for before closing the trade? Thanks

4. Andrei

Andrei Well-Known Member

My first question is how do you measure ROC. Most people following John Locke's strategies use planned capital to measure their returns. For most trades it is $50K for 10 butterflies. In many cases one does not deploy the entire planned capital, but the returns are still measured against the full amount.