Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fidelity Capital Req's

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bill Lasko, Mar 30, 2017.

1. Bill Lasko

Bill Lasko New Member

I'm brand new to this great service ( thank you ) and found that with my first BWB on Fidelity - the capital they hold back is $25K for a trade that can't possibly lose more than $9,800

I phoned the active trader desk and they didn't state that the issue could be fixed - they were cordial but I suppose I'll be transferring the remainders of my funds out of their accounts and over to TOS or IB.

2. Tim

Tim Well-Known Member

Hi Bill. Yes, different brokers margin BWB's differently under reg T margin rules. TOS is great and has the lowest margin, likely the $9800 you see on the graph. Schwab is like fidelity and will margin the same trade 3x higher, which it sounds like Fidelity does too. They won't "fix" it. If you have PM it will be much less, in line with what the maximum possible loss is on the graph.

3. Jack

Jack Well-Known Member

[QUOTE="I phoned the active trader desk and they didn't state that the issue could be fixed - they were cordial but I suppose I'll be transferring the remainders of my funds out of their accounts and over to TOS or IB.[/QUOTE]

Best decision to transfer to TOS. Things are a lot more straightforward for our types of trades. I had to transfer all my funds from another broker a few months ago. Trading is difficult enough, no need to spend extra energy on margin, platform, commissions and other issues!

4. Mark Mosley

Mark Mosley Member