Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Be Careful Evaluating P&L on TOS

Discussion in 'Beginner Traders' started by Bill Lasko, Aug 4, 2017.

1. Bill Lasko

Bill Lasko New Member

As a new trader I was making a foolish misinterpretation of P&L on Thinkorswim - I'm sharing this experience so others may avoid this oversight.
    TOS displays and tracks P&L only for those trades you have on at the moment - so if, like me, you're placing and monitoring a Road Trip Trade - it will display profits that aren't really there after you begin to perform your Reverse Harveys, or other adjustments.

Unlike OptionVue which keeps track of all profits and losses from the time you open your trade until it's done - TOS just keeps the active trade components - and if like me you take TOS P&L at face value you will grossly overestimate your expected returns.

2. Dot

Dot Well-Known Member

I have been trading without third party software, just TOS, for years. All you need to do is to bring over your trades into the Analyze Tab and you will have an accurate P & L figure.

3. Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee Well-Known Member

One thing to note is the P&L in the Analyze page is not based on actual mid prices but rather on TOS simulated model prices. That's true for both Simulated Trades as well as Existing Position in the Analyze page. If you set the model to individual IV, the difference between simulated P&L and actual mid price P&L is small but that varies. Sometime it can be significant. Therefore you have to be careful. If you set the model to Volatility Smile Approx, then the P&L will be way off.

In TOS, if you want to see your position P&L based on mid prices, you have to look at the Monitor tab.

Jason A likes this.
  4. Dot

Dot Well-Known Member