Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anybody using OptionVue portfolio functionality?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Andrei, Feb 3, 2015.

1. Andrei

Andrei Well-Known Member

I am new to OV. I am planning to use it mostly for analysis of M3, BB, and similar trades. However, there seems to be a lot of functionality for portfolio management and analysis. I have watch some of their videos and it looks good. But when I tried I ran into a lot of problems. There seems to be no clean way to keep trades separated in an account. I tried to use R field, it did not work too well. I also noticed that some people just create a new account for every trades, (i.e. Jan M3, Feb Me, etc.)Seems very inefficient.
    I liked ONE's approach when every trade in an account had unique ID.
    Is anyone using this functionality? Is there a good way to keep track of trades without creating numerous accounts?

2. Gabor Maly

Gabor Maly Well-Known Member

Hi Andrei
    Yes ONE's approach is very nice and wish OV would adopt something similar.
    I looked at the various ways but I found that creating a new account for every trade (may call it inefficient but really takes 2 seconds) and then linking it to a mother account is the best approach in OV in case you want to easily go back and review a trade.

3. Andrei

Andrei Well-Known Member

Thank you GarborMaly. It is a pity that OV is not very responsive to obvious improvements to the system. I have talked to James at OV giving him my feedback and it is clear that he had heard similar suggestions from many users. I hope that with new higher pricing they will allocate some resources to improve their interface and trade management.

4. tom

tom Administrator Staff Member

I sent a suggestion to Len Yates at OptionVue about this. Hopefully we'll see it in OV in the near future.

5. Len Yates

Len Yates Active Member